Before season 3 premieres on Wednesday, July 7 at 9:30 p.m. ET on CBS, Vandenberg and Hoffman speak with Parade about their preparation process for a new season, how the Hawaiian setting changes the game, and how they would react to a Love Island wedding. In the days leading up to the new season, what is your preparation like, considering how much of Love Island is done in the moment?Arielle Vandenberg: I feel like doing this press stuff before the season is actually my preparation. It gets me so excited. Because I get to talk to all these different outlets about what the format of the show is over and over. And I’m so freaking excited because I keep talking about it. I’m like, “Get me in there!” I also haven’t met any of the Islanders yet. I keep hearing through the hallways of this hotel. I keep being told, “They’re so good.” And I’m like, “Well, show them to me! Let me hold them.” (Laughs.) The only preparation I’m doing is working out and working on a tan. But other than that, I’m just so excited.Matthew Hoffman: Unlike Ariel, I have not worked out an entire year. (Laughs.) Nobody sees me on camera. And I like it that way, quite frankly. So no workout for me. But I do watch some of the season back. People will come up to me and say, “Oh my God, I loved when you said this.” And I have no recollection of saying that! Because you’re just trying to make the best show possible and support the islanders through their journey of love through this insane lens. The best part about Love Island is that it’s pretty much every day. So the turnaround time is so crazy. Once you get a joke done, you completely forget about it. So I do watch the season back just a little bit. Nothing crazy, but just enough to see what works for me what didn’t work. But it’s an interesting process for sure. And I am writing Hawaii puns as we speak. Speaking of your narration, are you heartbroken you won’t be doing Caesar’s promos anymore?Hoffman: No Caesar’s! It breaks my heart. That was probably the most fun I’ve ever had doing anything in my entire life. When Caesar’s came in, they were like, “Hoffman, you’ve got 12 seconds. Do a commercial.” So if you watch the progression of commercials, the first ones were pretty vanilla. And by the end, it was as if I had rabies and was the most excited. It took on a life of its own. And the fans were so sweet. One of my favorite tweets ever was like, “@MatthewHoffman, if I go to Caesar’s and you’re not screaming at me in the lobby, I’m leaving.” It was my favorite thing to do. But don’t you worry. We have some tricks up our sleeve, and we will hopefully be equally as entertaining. Arielle, what was your reaction to finding out you would be going to Hawaii for season 3?Vandenberg: My jaw dropped. I was so excited when I found out. But from a show perspective, it’s so freakin’ cool that we’re here because of the romantic aspect to Hawaii. It brings such a cool, beautiful, healing, grounded energy. You don’t even know you needed it until you get here. I’ve been here for two weeks already and I wake up so happy. So I can’t even imagine being in the villa as these Islanders get to wake up here every day. So excited to just be alive, waking up happy. It’s perfect. Obviously, we’re gonna get some amazing sunsets. And I feel like there’s gonna be some “I love you’s going on. I mean, my fiancé and I were sitting out on our balcony having a glass of wine. And I was like, “I love you.” And I’ve been saying that for years. But it felt like the first time I was telling him! [Laughs.] I just can’t wait to see that play out in the show.Hoffman: If people don’t fall in love in Hawaii, where do you fall in love? Couples in Burbank don’t stand a chance. Are you approaching your job any differently this season than previous years?Hoffman: That’s such an interesting question. Every season is different, and every Islander is different. Aside from the stylistic stuff, there is no way possible to prepare for my track for this job, because I get the show in the exact same way that the viewer gets the show. I am very, very, very adamant that I don’t want to know anything that happens. The highest compliment I can receive is, “Oh, we feel like we’re watching the show with you.” That is my goal. How can I be your best friend on the couch and watch the show with you? So I see things in real-time the way viewer does, and I don’t see anything before that. Everything that you hear is basically my initial reaction, so I’m just watching the show as a super fan. Truly, I have the best gig in the world. I used to be the “prince of prepare;” I would love to prepare as much as possible. But I think I learned going into season one, you can’t prepare. And that’s what’s so exciting about the show. I write it and we record it and whatever happens happens. I can’t come in with a stock joke to put in somewhere. I’m just watching it as the viewer and just holding on for dear life hoping that we make the best, funniest show that we can possibly make for people who survived last year and lived through, you know, some really, really dark times. How can we entertain as many people as possible and do it through a ridiculous absurd lens of love?Vandenberg: Matthew literally took the words out of my mouth. I don’t really know what to expect. You have to take it day by day because there are new people that come into the villa. And you can’t get a sense of those people until they walk out and you go, “Oh, that’s the energy that person brought. I’m gonna bring that energy to you.” At the same time, I’ve never done a show like this before. Every season is a learning experience, and every season can get better and will get better. Every day, I’m learning something new about production, which makes me that much more knowledgeable and maybe that much better. We know that Casa Amor is returning after its U.S. debut last season. How excited are you for its comeback?Vandenberg:That’s my favorite part of the show, besides Matthews narration! Things are gonna happen, because Casa Amor is the ultimate love test. It just puts everyone’s relationship to the test. And when they come back from there, you can’t predict it. You’re living a life separate from your partner with zero clue what’s going on. And I’m standing there, having to be the person who delivers the news. My favorite episode is when they come back together. It’s like you’re sitting on the edge of your seat. So I’m thrilled that it’s back.Hoffman:I love it! But I have to be very honest. It’s expensive for me because every season, I commission an oil painting of all the Islanders. Then we get 10 more and it’s a disaster. Don’t get me started on framing!Vandenberg:(Laughs.) You’re so dumb. You do not do that!Hoffman:But seriously, it’s like just when you think you have everyone’s names memorized, here come 10 more people.Vandenberg:Oh don’t even. If you mess up, at least you get to do it over. I’m standing there in person like, “Remember their name.“Hoffman:Time out, Mike. I have to interject because she’s a liar. She’s the best. I don’t believe that for a second. I feel like you have Love Island trading cards and you know everything about them. You know what town they’re from, their weight, their SAT score, everything. I’m onto you!Vandenberg:(Laughs.) I’m actually really good with the guys. I’ve had practice trying to learn guys’ names just being a woman in Hollywood being like, “That guy’s cute, what’s his name?” But I feel like the names get more and more unique the younger they get.Hoffman: But back to Casa Amor. I believe the best 10 seconds of television was that episode last year when Carrington came down the steps alone. You thought he came back for Kierstan. But he brought Laurel. Mike, we stood up clapping and was on the verge of shingles. I have the chills right now thinking about it. Nothing can top that. It was an incredible episode and I cannot wait to start screaming in my office again. Obviously you haven’t seen the Islanders yet. But what is your reaction to the new diversity initiative put in by CBS to have at least 50% BIPOC cast members for its reality TV shows?Hoffman: I just have to say I am so proud of our show. I am so proud of CBS that they have created since season one a show that is reflective of society. Our show was diverse from episode one, and I am so proud to be a part of a show that is so inclusive, that celebrates love for everybody, period. The Islanders come in at a very unique time, with COVID restrictions lowering worldwide. Do you think the contestants are looking to open their hearts now that the world is open again?Hoffman: Oh, you poet! I cannot imagine the excitement that they are feeling right now. It’s been such a tough year for everybody. People have not seen their families, their friends. Because of what’s happened in the world you’re out of the dating game; it was really tough. The fact that the show is giving them an opportunity to meet people in this time I just think is the coolest. To be locked up in a house for over a year and not know what’s happening, and then come to this gorgeous villa in Hawaii, to a different house to be locked up in that house all day long! (Laughs.) I’m just so happy for them.Vandenberg: I mean, this is definitely the best lockdown you could possibly imagine. This sounds weird, but coming out of what we all experienced, it’s a bit of a free for all. It’s unfiltered. There aren’t as many worries. It’s like, “Oh we’re now sleeping in bed together. We’re getting to know each other. We’re making out on the first night.” Good for them! They’re in a safe space now and to able to do so. We do still have our own protocols here, with quarantine and testing. But they don’t have to fear that unknown that much. And that’s a good feeling. I can’t imagine meeting strangers now without even having that little voice in the back of your head going like, “Oh, don’t shake my hand.” Tat’s not going to happen on this show. It’s gonna be straight-up Make-out City!Hoffman: Arielle is the Mayor of Make-out City. Let’s try to manifest something here. What’s the one thing you want to happen on this season of Love Island?Hoffman: It is my Love Island dream to officiate a wedding. Arielle and I can do the service. I love a passed mozzarella stick at a wedding; I love meeting family members. I am crossing all the fingers that Hawaii and Arielle sprinkle some love dust to make this wedding happen. Arielle and I can officiate this wedding because quite frankly like nothing would make me happier.Vandenberg: I don’t know if I would want to officiate so I’m going to give that to you. I would crash and burn in front of everyone. But I would love to attend a Love Island wedding. I would love it if someone on the show got married, so I could say I introduced them!Hoffman: They could name their firstborn Arielle!Vandenberg: I’d love it if someone proposed at the finale. Could you imagine?!Hoffman: No. If that happened, for the first time in 100 episodes, I would be speechless.Vandenberg: I would just burst into tears. That would be the greatest night. Next, take a walk down memory line in our chat with Arielle Vandenberg and Matthew Hoffman last year before Love Island season 2.

Love Island Season 3   Interview with Host Arielle Vandenberg and Narrator Matthew Hoffman  - 14