The Colombian chart-topper has added movie star to his résumé, starring alongside Jennifer Lopezin the 2022 rom-com Marry Me. Where did Maluma come from and what exactly is Maluma’s net worth? Find out the singer’s backstory and how he earned big bucks.

How did Maluma become famous?

Born Juan Luis Londoño Arias in Medellín, Colombia, Maluma co-wrote and recorded his first song, “No Quiero,” with a pal when he was 16 years old. He chose the stage name “Maluma” from the first syllables of his mother, father, and sister’s first names (aw!). Maluma got some help from his family when he was a fledgling star: His uncle, Juan Parra, allowed Maluma to record his first track in Parra’s studio, and Maluma’s aunt is Yudy Arias, a popular Colombian Instagram influencer and media personality. These connections quite likely helped him break through to the mainstream sooner than other artists without those privileges would have been able to do. Maluma began recording singles as early as 2010, with his tune “Farandulera” garnering moderate radio success. In 2012, he dropped his first full-length album, Magia. Since then, his hit features, singles and albums Pretty Boy, Dirty Boy; F.A.M.E.; 11:11 and Papi Juancho have generated billions of views, with platinumcertifications to boot (and F.A.M.E. even went diamond!).

What is Maluma’s net worth?

According to Celebrity Net Worth, Maluma’s net worth is estimated at $12 million. His income comes predominantly from his music, including his solo work as well as collaborations with huge artists like J-Lo, Madonna, Shakira, J Balvin, Ricky Martin, Jason Derulo, Daddy Yankee, Rae Sremmurd, The Weeknd, Prince Royce and French Montana (to name just a few!). Pre-COVID-19, Maluma also likely made good money from touring and live shows (he sold out major venues, including Madison Square Garden, in 2019). Maluma previously revealed that he’s attracted to musicians who perform and live with their souls, not their bank accounts, in mind. “I feel like the artists right now, the modern artists, are losing their spirituality, and that’s kind of sad. I don’t feel like they pray or meditate, and that’s why I feel connected with artists like Madonna, Shakira, and Jennifer,” the hitmaker admitted to Elle in January 2021. “Sometimes people tell me that I’m an old soul because of that, but at the end of the day, you can be the biggest star in the world, but if you are not spiritual, you are empty inside.” He added, “With Ricky Martin, you just feel his aura is so blue, so clear. But then you go to a music session in Miami with these guys my age, and they’re talking about material things, and I’m like, ‘OK, it’s nice to have a Lamborghini, it’s nice to have a big Rolex, it’s nice to have a huge house, but when are you going to have a big soul?’” A fashion house favorite, Maluma has also had endorsements from major brands, including Versace, Nike, Michelob Ultra, Balmain, and Moet Hennessey. Maluma has recently dipped his toes into acting—besides Marry Me, he voiced a key role in Encanto and has narrated Mi Selección Colombia—which will likely prove to be lucrative as well:

How much did Maluma get paid for Encanto?

Maluma’s salary for Encanto isn’t publicly known. That said, the movie and its soundtrack have been massively successful, so he likely made a decent chunk of change for his small but memorable role as Mariano, the “town heartthrob” of the Colombia-set animated feature. Encanto was released in theaters over Thanksgiving 2021 and after a 30-day run, the critically acclaimed film was released to Disney+ on Christmas Eve, where it quickly became a cultural sensation. Maluma is also featured on the soundtrack in the song “All of You.”

Does Maluma come from a rich family?

Though Maluma was able to leverage some connections from his extended family in his quest to stardom and success, he told Elle(as the magazine’s first-ever solo male cover star!) in January 2021 that financially, he comes from humble beginnings. “My family, we were not rich. We had what we needed, but then my dad lost everything, and my parents got divorced,” he said. “It’s what made me realize I had to work super hard so my family could have food and a house to live in … But between everything, I was a very happy child.”

How much does Maluma make per concert?

According to Forbes, Maluma rakes in an average of more than $600,000 per concert in ticket grosses and merchandise sales. Maluma admitted that going back on tour amid the COVID-19 pandemic was a scary prospect, telling Billboard in September 2021, “It was kind of hard and difficult to go back on stage during COVID. You have to be brave to announce a tour after all the things that happened, but I feel good right now. I feel like people are excited. They want to go out and enjoy the shows. Everyone is just looking forward to feeling normal and I feel that this type of concert will give that back to them. For me, it’s amazing to spend this time with my fans, I miss them so much.”

Who was supposed to be in Marry Me?

Maluma stars in Marry Me with Lopez (as her cheating fiancé!) and Owen Wilson. Jameela Jamil, Sarah Silverman, Michelle Buteau and Jimmy Fallon also appear in the romantic comedy, which premieres in theaters and will stream on Peacock. Maluma said getting cast in Marry Me was a shock—but in the best way. “[Lopez] is someone I admire, and she is someone I’ve followed since I was a little kid,” he told Elle in January 2021. “So for me, being part of this movie was almost surreal. It was a big surprise when they called me, but I was ready for it.”

What languages does Maluma speak?

Maluma speaks English and Spanish, but prefers to sing exclusively in Spanish (with the exception of his feature with Rae Sremmurd on BURNS’ “Hands On Me”). He explained to  British GQ Style, “A year ago, I went to L.A. and worked with the biggest producers in the industry—Scott Storch, Timbaland, Max Martin. I felt pressure, because they told me I had to record in English. I did all these songs and loved them but wasn’t feeling my essence. I decided that I was going to keep singing in Spanish.”

What nationality is Maluma?

Maluma is Colombian. He admitted that when he leaves his home turf, he doesn’t feel as much like himself—but that’s by design. “When I leave Colombia, I feel like, ‘OK, I’m going to play the role,’” he confessed to Entertainment Tonight. “You play the role so you can have a beautiful life, but you know that this sh*t is not going to last. You can have all these material things but when you die, you’re not taking them with you. Nothing lasts forever.”

What genre is Maluma?

Maluma’s music spans several genres. He combines elements of pop, Latin pop, reggaeton, urban pop, and even trap. However, if you ask him what his genre is, he’ll tell you, as he told Rolling Stone, “I like to say my genre is the Maluma genre. I don’t want people to know me as a reggaeton star. I want them to know me as Maluma, the star.” Next, find out Drake’s net worth.

Maluma s Net Worth  2022   How Much He Makes From Music  Marry Me  Encanto - 20