Ashleigh Shanti wanted to make good on every single opportunity she was afforded on Top Chef. Having put her own restaurant plans on hold to compete, she was hungry to be the first Black woman to win the title. Unfortunately, those plans went awry early when she got eliminated during a heavy-duty barbecue challenge. Luckily, she went right to the finale of Last Chance Kitchen, where she immediately won her way back onto the show. She used that second chance to hit her high water mark, winning arguably the hardest challenge of the season in Restaurant Wars. Unfortunately, she did not fare so well after that. After finishing in the bottom a few times, Ashleigh hoped the opportunity to cook food inspired by her mom would be the taste of home she needed to continue. But a crucial technical error had the judges literally spitting out their food, sending her out for the second time. Read on to hear Ashleigh’s thoughts on her time in the game. What compelled you to apply for Top Chef? Casting reached out for Season 18, and The timing just wasn’t right for me. When they reached out again for Season 19, I knew that it was an opportunity I should take. I’ve been waiting with bated breath to see a Black woman win the title of Top Chef. You formed a friend group with Jo and Evelyn. What brought you together, and how essential was it to have that camaraderie during such a stressful time? All the chefs found common ground in us being away from our families and things that bring us comfort. We were all fast friends pretty easily. I think Evelyn, Jo, and I found kinship in bringing humor to the challenging circumstances we faced every day. That sense of camaraderie certainly seemed to decrease the level of stress we experienced. Let’s talk through what happened during your first elimination with the BBQ challenge. Were you surprised to stumble and get eliminated there? I was surprised to be eliminated after the BBQ challenge. Not because I tout myself to be a pitmaster, but because I was confident that while my dish didn’t stand out as the best in the group, I didn’t think it was the worst. You said that elimination was a blow to your confidence. What was your attitude like going into Last Chance Kitchen? For Last Chance Kitchen, I was determined to win. There was no doubt in my mind that I’d be back in the competition.
Then you go right from Last Chance Kitchen back into the game. Did being eliminated change your approach to the show, or was it just a reset back to where things were? After winning Last Chance Kitchen to get back into the competition, I was determined to cook the food I thought represented me as opposed to cooking what I thought the judges might enjoy. You’ve had the experience of having your food be “unapproachable” where you’re from. How did it feel to be able to cook authentically you without facing that type of feedback? Cooking authentically is important to me. Regardless of the platform, I’ve learned that this is an artistry that people may or may not understand. Regardless, my goal is to make tasty food that surmounts everything. That being said, how did it feel to win Restaurant Wars? Winning Restaurant Wars was very personal for me. I put my own plans to open a restaurant on hold to compete on Top Chef. I think the idea of a Black woman-led restaurant is still so foreign in our industry, so it felt good to work to put those stereotypes to bed. You said you felt you were “hanging by a thread” throughout the competition. Was there something about the season that made things more difficult for you, and how were you able to survive?Top Chef in itself is incredibly difficult, as it should be. The circumstances we face are created to increase the pressure, and I knew I was jumping into something that was going to be tough. Each day I was simply committed to doing my very best. Let’s get into your second elimination. How did it feel to be able to channel your mom in a dish? I love cooking for my family, particularly my mom. She is a large inspiration behind my cooking. From her, I learned that cooking is an emotional exchange. It was interesting applying her “low and slow” style to an intense Top Chef challenge. Can you elaborate on what happened with the undercooked squid? Did you know it would be a problem before the judges spoke about it? I knew there were some issues within my dish that I could have fixed with more time and cooking space, of course. I fell victim to the clock during this challenge, and it was simply not my friend. You spoke about typically leaning on others to succeed and hoping to stand out as an individual. Do you think you were able to do that on Top Chef? Well, it’s an immense challenge to find success on your own as a Black person in an industry that has spelled oppression and creative theft for us for so many years- standing out is a given. I showed myself as best as I could on Top Chef. I certainly stood out as the sole black woman. For me, though, standing out as an individual does not lead to professional success. Next, check out our interview with Jae Jung, who was eliminated in Top Chef Houston Episode 10.

Top Chef Season 19   Ashleigh Shanti Post Elimination Interview - 41